Skip to main content

dr schlussel logo min

Dry-Eye-Man-Banner-1266x200
Home » Patient Testimonials

Patient Testimonials

March 30, 2018, by Tierra J.

Great guy; very nice manner and did not hesitate to explain things when I had questions.


March 13, 2018

Thorough eye exam with a professional atmosphere. The staff is excellent and friendly. I will be a regular patient going forward. I am confident that I received high-quality care and highly recommend Dr. Schlussel.


March 1, 2018, by Diane R.

I have been going to Dr. Schlussel for many years and his staff is always very professional and friendly.


February 15, 2018, by Francesco B.

I highly recommend Dr. Schlussel.


January 30, 2018, by Timothy F.

I was the first appointment of the morning so I was able to get right in. Dr. Schlussel was to the point, answered all my questions, and pointed me in the right direction for purchasing a solid pair of lenses.


Less than 6 months ago

Very curt visit.


November 14, 2017, by Sharon L.

Dr. Schlussel has been my optometrist for nearly two decades. He has always been great and thorough in following the condition of my eyes and for that, I am very grateful. And his staff are very professional and gracious.


November 7, 2017

I would rate the visit as excellent.


November 4, 2017, by Yvonne B.

Nice guy, very good physician. Nice bedside manner, nice staff. Clean office, nice atmosphere. Sending my mom for a check


October 30, 2017, by Hannah E.

Dr. Schlussel himself was good. Very informative and quick. His staff, however, is a little lacking. My glasses order was lost and no one told me until I called a month later to inquire about it. When I finally canceled my order to order through a different provider, the receptionist was unable to simply email me a copy of my prescription.


October 12, 2017, by Audra B.

The entire staff and Dr. Schlussel are fantastic. I waited less than 10min after my arrival, they completed a thorough test and examination and Dr. Schlussel takes his time examining and talking with you. I never feel rushed and it is a very easy appointment. I highly recommend this practice!


September 29, 2017, by Anna S.

Dr. Schlussel was actually really great, and so were the technicians Jimmy and Talia, the woman who helped me pick out my glasses were super helpful and kind as well. I especially want to thank Talia for helping me pick out frames and being understanding with me!

 


September 19, 2017, by Jacquelyn L.

Very informative and took the time to answer questions.


September 17, 2017, by Joaquin L.

Excellent!


September 13, 2017, by Kimberly A.

Great office! Dr. Schlussel is very knowledgeable and super friendly. My appointments always start on time and I've been going to the same office for over 15 yrs. Highly recommend!


September 12, 2017

Very professional. Warm manner.


September 7, 2017, by Steven S.

We love Dr. Schlussel!


Less than a year ago

The doctor was thorough and the office had top of the line, updated technology. I was completely comfortable and left with no questions unanswered.


August 1, 2017, by Irada E.

My husband and I had two consequent appointments for the regular checkup and glasses prescription. We have got even more than we expected. I was advised on what kind of glasses will make my life easier and have got a stylish frame from a famous brand by reasonable price. My husband's issue was solved by the doctor who identified the source of it and made a prescription. That problem hasn't been solved (neither identified for decades). The personnel is friendly and professional. I would highly recommend the doctor.


July 30, 2017, by Katrina A.

Dr. Schlussel is extremely knowledgeable and very friendly! He corrected my vision very thoroughly and made sure my eyes were totally healthy.


July 29, 2017, by Danae H.

The doctor is fantastic, but the girl who was doing a couple of vision tests before was really horrible. Lots of sighing, borderline disrespectful, didn't seem like she knew what she was doing.


July 18, 2017, by Leonard G.

I moved 60 miles from Dr. Schlussel about 3 years ago and I consulted with two eye doctors over the next two years. The locals did not provide the quality service that this doctor provided. This year, rather than try a third doctor, I traveled the hour or so one way to receive quality care. His staff is very professional, affable and efficient. I have no regrets traveling two hours round trip and I highly recommend him.


Less than a year ago, by Adrienne C.

Very professional and knowledgeable dentist. If you have eye problems - especially dry eye problems - I highly recommend. You're in good hands here.


July 11, 2017, by Prachi V.

I took my 8 yr old and 4 yr old for a checkup and he was great. very patient, interactive and my kids actually cooperated without me telling them to. Great experience!!


July 10, 2017, by Debra G.

I love going to their office. They are sweet, friendly, and caring. The service is amazing. The only thing is you have to wait.


June 15, 2017, by Hannah D.

I was 20 minutes late due to heavy traffic and they were super accommodating! Everything about the appointment was great. Dr. Schlussel is very knowledgeable and friendly.


June 14, 2017, by Ann L.

Dr. Schlussel was very thorough and professional. I'm very happy with the quality of care I received.


Less than a year ago, by Amy D.

Dr. Schlussel is meticulous and thorough. He spent at least 30 minutes with me and was incredibly helpful and forthright. It has taken me awhile to find an optometrist that I like in the city and I will definitely be returning to Dr. Schlussel in the future.


June 8, 2017, by Rebecca G.

Friendly staff, short wait, very accommodating to my crying baby. Overall great experience!


June 7, 2017, by Keyomars N.

Dr. Schlussel was very patient and helpful and explained everything thoroughly. Would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a professional optometrist.


June 6, 2017, by Karina R.

Great service from everyone. First time with contacts and they're very patient, changed one out for me and were thorough with making sure I had the right prescription etc. Great staff!


June 2, 2017, by Kim H.

Long time patient very happy with expertise and diagnosis.


June 1, 2017, by Maureen M.

No wait time (I checked in online in advance.) Very thorough and informative exam. Both the doctor and the tech took the time to explain things to me. Very efficient but also a great "bedside manner" and I never felt rushed. I also bought new reading glasses there (I broke mine). I showed them what I wanted to replace and they pulled the handful of glasses that most looked like what I wanted and explained my benefits and what my costs would be. Overall, a great experience from start to finish. I've found my new eye doctor!!!


May 26, 2017, by Jayme P.

Doctor himself was amazing, wish I could go back just because he was the best.


May 17, 2017

He was detailed and thorough. I didn't feel rushed and appreciated that he answered all of my questions.


Less than a year ago by Sarah C.

I've been seeing Dr. Schlussel ever since I first started needing glasses in middle school. He, and everyone else in his office is knowledgeable, kind, and quick! Never had to wait very long, never had an unanswered question.


May 2, 2017, by Dayna B.

Dr. Schlussel is great, very knowledgeable, explains everything, and thorough in his exam. The office is clean and the staff is friendly. Definitely, recommend!


April 26, 2017, by Shannon S.

This was a great experience, not only was the wait very short (<10 minutes total waiting time for the technician and Dr. Schlussel), but the entire process was so smooth. Everyone was very knowledgeable and helpful. I've never walked away from an eye exam understanding what I was paying for and what my health plan was paying for. They really made sure to understand my benefits, which I greatly appreciated. In addition, Dr. Schlussel is also an excellent doctor with great bedside manner, he was very friendly and efficient. He wanted me to come back for some additional testing and explained why in detail, and even reviewed my benefits to make sure it was covered or would be a decent cost. I definitely plan on continuing to see Dr. Schlussel!


April 19, 2017, by Dennis G.

Dr. Schlussel is the consummate professional, extremely knowledgeable and patient-centered. He is easy to talk to and easy to understand. He has a superb and efficient office staff. Receptionist and billing personnel were professional and extremely well organized. The optometry technician was professional and informative and administered tests in a calm, patient manner. The dispensing optician was professional, informative and helped identify the appropriate glasses for my prescription. Bottom line, a superb Optometrist with outstanding staff.


2/22/2012 Jeff G. Queens, NY

Great Doctor, Great Experience! First of all, I had a horrible experience at a Cohen's last year; Dr S gave me a more thorough exam, which resulted in a much more accurate prescription (both eyes are not the same) and while I saw that he does sell/make glasses he gladly emailed me a copy of my scrip so I could forward it right to my optician.

2/16/2012 Anonymous

Great Experience!Entire staff was personable and thorough. I felt comfortable and welcome. It's great that I could register online and that there's a comprehensive online appointment scheduling system. I will be back for a check up next year without worry!

2/15/2012 Harvey H. MD  New York,NY

Urgent Visit for floaters! Called for sudden floaters and flashes in left eye. Seen in 3 hours. Had benign separation of vitreous fluid from retina diagnosed with no retinal detachment. As a MD I really appreciated the quality of care. Have seen Dr. Schlussel for over 20 years

2/15/2012 Latashia B. New York,NY

Positive Experience! I had a thorough exam. The staff is friendly and efficient and the doctor was patient, informative and answered all questions.

2/3/2012 Dennis G. New York, NY

Superb Professional! Excellent practitioner who is oriented to meeting his patients needs. Thoroughly explains each procedure and patiently discusses the results. He exudes confidence and is able to quickly alleviate his patient's anxieties or concerns. He is a true professional.

1/25/2012 Kathleen C. New York,NY

Excellent! Great doctor, great facility, thoughtful care.

1/18/2012 Sarah G New York, NY

New to Contacts!Yesterday I had an eye exam for my first pair of contacts. Although my appointment was at 3 I was not seen until 3:45. However, it was well worth the wait. Dr. Schlussel was patient and extremely thorough. He answered all of my concerns and then some. His team was all very receptive and helpful in teaching me how to insert my first pair of contacts. I would 100% recommend Dr. Schlussel to new patient.

1/12/12 Jennifer C. Brooklyn, NY

Fantastic!! Another great experience from Dr and staff...

1/10/2012 Stella T. Brooklyn, NY

I could not ask for a better care or treatment than what I always get from Dr. Schlussel and his staff. I will not hesitate to refer my friends to you.

1/1/2012 Susan P. New York,NY

Terrific Experience! Thorough exam, as always. Pleasant and helpful staff, informative doc, fabulous eyeglass collection!

12/29/2011 Patrice D. New York,NY

Great! Dr. Schussel was thorough, caring, and wise. He noticed things my previous eye doctor never saw, and offered a number of helpful solutions that addressed my eye problems. I recommend him without reservation.

12/28/2011 Ronak M. New York, NY

1st Time Consultation-Great Doctor. Great experience as a first time patient. Staff and doctor were courteous and helpful. Also, a great, central location in the city. Would highly recommend.

12/14/11  Ludana J. New York,NY

Dr Schlussel and his staff are the best! 
I always have the best experience with Dr. Schussel. The entire staff is very friendly. The Dr. is very throrough as I have "special vision" needs 🙂 therefore he suggests many options for me that would be the most cost effcient, and the best results
12/14/2011 Anonymous  New York, NY
Great eye doctor. Dr. Schlussel is always puntual and very kind. The glasses I have gotten from him are always perfect. His staff is great, professional and helpful. Do not hesitate to use his services.
12/14/2011 Frances I-G. New York,NY
Professional All the Way! Wonderful professional experience..teriffic staff and wonderful doctor
12/2/2011 Gayle P. New York, NY
Excellent and efficient as always Dr. Schlussel is professional, knowledgable and efficient. He took time with me to be certain that my new lenses would give me the best vision possible and introduced me to a new solution that is more comfortable. I have recommended him to friends and will continue to do that.
11/192011 Anonymous New York, NY
Kind and Concerned !
I woke up having flashers in one of my eyes. The staff gave me an appointment within hours. Dr Schlussel was caring and concerned and explained everything to me. I have been a patient for several years and will continue to see Dr. Schlussel...
11/17/2011  Anonymous  New York, NY
Friendly Doctor and Staff!
Dr. Schlussel is a very friendly doctor, and he always talks through all of the options. On my recent visit, with new insurance, his staff even found out I had additional coverage that I didn't know about!
11/14/2011 Christine J. Brooklyn. NY
The Best Optometrist of the 21th Century 
Dr A. Schlussel is the best. He is prompt with appointments,knowledgeable, courteous,accurate diagnosis,listens to patients, caring, compassionate,follows up in a prompt and reponsible way, his staff is impeccably friendly.I would strongly recommend him to anyone seeking a good optometrist.
11/8/2011  Dr. Stacy L.   New York,NY
Very Efficient office! Very educational and efficient. Friendly doctor
10/24/2011 Maria D. Queens, NY
Very Professional, Very Friendly Office
Everybody is very professional and very friendly. Everybody takes time to explain things when you don't understand and they always take time to listen to what you have to say. Everybody makes you feel at ease and very comfortable.
10/12/2011 Anonymous New York,NY
Personable and Professional  Dr. Schlussel was friendly and professional, making conversation throughout my visit. He seems pretty up-to-date on the latest optometry tech, and the office has top-notch equipment, and was very clean. Overall a positive experience.
10/11/2011 Anonymous New York,NY
Great Contact Lens/Glasses Appointment! 
Dr. Schlussel was knowledgable, friendly and caring. I had an appointment on a Tuesday afternoon, and I was seen quickly. I would highly recommend Dr. Schlussel as he demonstrated a clear understanding of all things eyes and walked me through the whole process.
9/27/2011  Carolyn W. New York, NY
Excellent Doctor!
I have been a patient of Dr. Schlussel since 1987 and I wouldn't trust my eyes to any other doctor. He is wonderful, caring and takes the time to explain each procedure during the exam.
9/13/2011 Anonymous New York,NY
Very Helpful!  I moved to the city about 5 months ago and needed a new eye doctor after doing some research i went to Dr Schlussel. He was extremely helpful in diagnosing my dry eye problem and fixing it. He is setting me up with contacts that will help my eyes. He is very nice and professional.
9/9/11 Anonymous New York,NY
Dr. Schlussel, great eyedoc
I came to Dr. Schlussel because my contact lenses have been problematic. He has been very patient with trying to solve my issues, even working through his lunch break. I would recommend Dr. Schlussel because he does not hurry you through and really wants to solve problems you might have.
8/31/2011 Ivy M. New York,NY
Best Optometrist in NY/NJ!
I have been seeing Dr. Schlussel for over 3 years now, in both his West Orange and New York offices. It was a relief to know that I wouldn't have to compromise my eye care and stop seeing Dr. Schlussel after moving back in the city, since he's got an office in Murray Hill! I highly recommend Dr. Schlussel as your optometrist - You can't find another more qualified, caring, diligent and sincere doctor in the tri-state.
8/19/2011 Joan T. New York, NY
I have been a patient with Dr. Schussel since the 1990's. I particularly like the ambience of the office, the high tech equipment, and the thoroughness of Schussel. Sara the office manager is great! Very polite, professional and sensitive to the needs of patients. She's knowledgeable and expresses kindness both over the phone and in person. Dr. Schlussel thank you for taking care of my eye care needs.
8/11/11 Devon M. New York, NY
Exceptional Care!!
Let me start by saying I don't usually leave feedback but Dr. Schlussel is nothing short of exceptional. He is thorough, informative and takes his time. I called on a Wednesday was able to get an appt the next day. Came for a routine eye exam and thanks to Dr. Schlussel and his state-of-the-art equipment I stand a good chance of saving the vision in my right eye. He diligently referred me to a specialist and now I'm scheduled for surgery today. Again, Dr. Schlussel and his staff are amazing but I might be bias as you don't come across many people that could possibly saved you from blindness.  
8/9/11 Gee L. New York,NY
Very professional and thorough! Dr. Schlussel was very thorough during my examination. He explained each step of the process and gave me specific information to help with after care. There was a balance of warmth and professionalism during my visit that I appreciated greatly. I would recommend seeing Dr. Schlussel for any eye care concerns.
7/29/2011 Anonymous New York,NY
A patient for many years, always pleased and well-cared for!  A wonderful staff and a Doctor with the latest and best equipment for eye care. Even the magazines in the waiting room are current! (But you never wait very long.)
7/27/2011 Joaquin Y., New York,NY
Highly Recommended Rating 
As a long-standing client of Dr. Schlussel, I can readily attest to his and his staff's professionalism, courtesies and helpfulness in all aspects of their practice. I highly recommend him and his staff's services.
7/14/2011 Sara M, New York, NY
Great experience
I have had my periodic vision check-ups with Dr. Schlussel and found him and his staff to be consistently professional, friendly and efficient. I can unequivocally recommend this practice.
7/14/2011 anonymous, New York,NY
Always Happy!
I always have a good experience going to see Dr. Schlussel every year. He is thorough, very pleasant, and gets through the examination quickly. I recommend him to all my friends needing an optometrist.

6/23/2011 Meaghan K. New York,NY

Great Experience! Dr. Schlussel was great! He was on time and very thorough. He helped me figure out my best options based on what my insurance covered. He does not pressure you into extra services. Very personable and professional. I would highly recommed him.

6/22/11 Brad M. New York, NY

Very Professional! I was impressed by every member of this office. From Dr. Schlussel to the support team, each person I dealt with was cordial and professional. They were busy and yet kept the patients moving so as not to waste anyone's time.

6/22/11 Peter J. New York, NY

Very efficient thorough exam. It's always a pleasure to visit the office. Sabina is expert at helping me select the perfect glasses. She takes time to make sure its the right fit and style for me and Dr. Schlussel and staff are great!

6/14/2011

Dr. Alan Schlussel is a credit to his field, knowledgeable, and kind. He is always willing to take the time to answer all questions, and explain why certain test/exams are needed or not needed. He keeps his practice current and up to date with the lastest technology to better access and treat the eye. As a patient for more than 20 years, I highly recommend him for total eye care. Also the staff at 33rd Street is wonderful, great to work with.

May 25,2011 From: Kimberly A., Manhattan

Great office!  I've been going to this office for years and always have a great experience. I usually never wait more than 10 minutes (which is pretty darn good for NYC). Dr Schlussel and his staff are fantastic and friendly. Great frame selection too!

May 18,2011 From: Carol L. ,Manhattan

The most thorough exam I've every had! After having been to an ophthalmologist one month previously (where I left confused and wondering why my right eye was blurry) and told to return in a year, I took matters in my own hands and called Dr. Schlussel for an optometrist exam. Within 5 minutes Dr. Schlussel diagnosed the problem, gave me a referral to get the problem taken care of and then proceeded to give me the most thorough eye exam I've every had! He is also one of the most personable doctors I've known.

May 12,2011 From : yvette e, Jersey City

I've been coming to Schlussel for over 10 years. I wouldn't trust anyone else. Dr. Schlussel and his staff are the best!

May 9,2011

From: Barbara A. ,Manhattan

As usual, my experience at Dr. Schlussel's office was very pleasant. Dr. Schlussel is extremely professional, knowledgeable and thorough and very careful in his examination. His Assistant is very kind and polite as are the staff at reception. Ms. Krasnov, Optician, is very nice and has a large selection of frames and can obtain anything one requires. All in all, an A+

May 2, 2011  aprilh , New York

Hope for the Hopeless! I thought I would never be able to see without blurred vision, much less be able to wear contacts without my eyes turning "devil red," again. I had been going to another eye clinic and developed a problem out of nowhere. There were no effective interventions. The diagnosis and situation weren't logical, I wasn't being heard, and I was basically told I had a condition I would have to live with for the rest of my life. After countless appointments and eight months later I got fed up. I looked online for a doctor that effectively treats "dry eye" and I found Dr. Schlussel. He was very thorough and really listened to me (a dying practice in medicine these days). He told me he knew the problem and had a plan. His diagnosis was spot-on and something I had suspected but had never been heard. He was wonderful at taking the time to review my treatment plan and has given me hope that my vision will improve (already has in just a couple of days) and I'll be able to see clearly AND wear contacts again!